Lithgow to Recognise its World War II Fallen

“It has undoubtedly been a long time coming, 70 years in fact, but thanks to the hard work and dedication of two local women, Lithgow finally has a fitting memorial to the men from the Lithgow area who died on active service during World War II,” said Lithgow City Council Mayor Maree Statham.

“There were 51 Lithgow men from the three services who died, and as a result many families who lost loved ones during the conflict,” continued the Mayor. “Up until now the Queen Elizabeth Park cenotaph has given recognition to their sacrifice as a group, but their names have not been listed. No longer. Lithgow residents Mrs Lorraine Ryan and Mrs Janice Marshall have worked tirelessly to research and compile the names of these men so that they might finally be given a fitting tribute.”

With the support of Lithgow RSL Sub-branch and Lithgow City Council, the memorial will be dedicated at 10.30am on Wednesday 11th November at Queen Elizabeth Park Lithgow. The dedication will be followed by the Remembrance Day service at 11.00am.

“I urge any family and friends of these men to attend the dedication and I would like to pay tribute to Mrs Lorraine Ryan and Mrs Janice Marshall as well as Lithgow RSL Sub-branch for their commitment to this project,” concluded the Mayor.

For further information on the dedication, contact Matthew Johnson at Lithgow City Council on 6354 9999 or Michael Cuthbert at Lithgow RSL Sub-branch on 6351 2498.

Providing a range of programs celebrating the cultural diversity and rich heritage of our local government area is part of Council’s Caring for our Community strategies in the Community Strategic Plan 2026.

Ambrose, George Hunter, Alan Charles Arthur Renshall, Edward Alfred
Bell, Mervyn Colin Hunter, Robert James Richards, Thomas
Brooks, Edward Ronald (Teddy) Johnson, Sydney Ronald Simpson, Clement Raymond
Cook, George Robin Jones, Leonard Tougher, Leslie
Cowen, Reginald John Latham, Stanley Warr, Bruce Allen
Cox, Austin Harry Lewis, Oswald Wilson, Frank Merrick
Crewdson, Colin Mateer, George Clifford Yarham, Neville John
Dow, Colin McLaren Northey, Leslie Herbert
Goodwin, Herbert James Paice, George Douglas
Armstrong, Neville Gerrard Diehm, William George McGee, Reginald William
Ayre, George Francis Edmonds, Neville John Moran, Reginald Leslie Read
Baker, James Heins, Alfred Ronald Murdoch, James
Bloom, Lionel Leslie Kairton, Donald Bertram Palmer, Kenneth Arthur Malcolm
Bradbury, Keith Robert James King, Stanley George Richard Sedger, Gordon Robert
Chivers, Albert Dudley Livingstone, David Weir, Hilton Kennedy
Crane, Robert William McAllister, Henry Gillen Williams, Henry Edward
Denley, Richard Charles McDonald, Donald Sylvester
Bampton, Ronald Edgar Herrod, Herbert Frederick
Fraser, William Beecroft


Matthew Johnson
Manager Community and Culture
Tel: 02 6354 9999
Fax: 02 6351 4259

Print Friendly, PDF & Email