

# LITHGOW CITY COUNCIL WOMEN'S ADVISORY COMMITTEE Terms of Reference

### **Committee Name**

Women's Advisory Committee (Committee)

### **Establishment**

The Committee is established under section 355 of the Local Government Act 1993 which states:

A function of a council may, subject to this Chapter, be exercised: (b) by a committee of the council

### Resolutions

Resolution to establish the Committee: Min: 18-355 of the Ordinary Meeting of Council held 26 November 2018

# **Delegations**

The Committee has no delegations from the Council

# **Financial Arrangements**

Unless expressly resolved by Council the Committee has no powers to commit nor expend any Council funds.

## **Term of the Committee**

The Committee shall operate for a period of two years, until March 2021/or the next Council election, and will be reviewed by Council prior to the end date.

The Council reserves the right to dissolve the Committee at any time by a resolution of the Council.

## **Committee's Responsibilities**

The principal responsibilities of the Committee are to:

- 1. To provide advice to Council on important women's issues across all areas of our community such as employment, leadership and participation, health, safety, and drought,
- 2. To provide advice to Council on barriers to women's participation, emerging women's issues, aspirations and initiatives so as to further progress gender equity in local communities; and
- 3. To promote and celebrate successes, milestones and participation of women.

## **Councillor Membership**

In September each year, the Council shall nominate 2 Councillors to the Committee.

The Mayor by virtue of holding the office of Mayor, is appointed as a member of all committees established by Council. The appointment of the Mayor as a member of any committee established by the Council need not be taken into account when determining a Quorum for a meeting of the Committee. (Council policy 9.2)

## **Committee Membership**

Membership will be sought on the basis of a broad interest, understanding and commitment to progressing important women's matters in the Lithgow Local Government Area.

Membership shall aim to include a broad range of people from a range of ages and backgrounds.

The Committee will be comprised of the following representation:

- Two (2) Councillors
- Up to twelve (12) community representatives with an interest and experience in advancing women's interests
- Up to three (3) representatives of organisations involved in working with women and women's interests

Council Officers (non-voting)

- Director of People and Services or nominee
- Community Development Officer

Other industry representatives may be called upon as and when required.

# **Committee Member Responsibilities**

- Observation and compliance with Council's Code of Conduct.
- Observation and compliance with Council's WHS system objectives and instructions.

## **Appointment**

All members of the Committee will be appointed by a resolution of Council.

In September each year:

- Council will nominate 2 (two) Councillors to the Committee.
- Council will advertise for nominations for Committee members on the Council website, in the local newspapers, disability and access service providers, agencies and venues, and other appropriate means.
- All committee members will live, work or participate significantly in Lithgow LGA.

A member ceases to be a member of a Committee if the member (other than the Mayor)

- (a) has been absent for 3 consecutive meetings of the committee without having given reasons acceptable to the Committee for the members absences; or
- (b) has been absent from at least half of the meetings of the Committee held during the immediately preceding year without having given to the Committee acceptable reasons for the member's absence.

# **Term of office of Committee Representatives**

The term of office shall be two years unless otherwise resolved by the Council.

#### **Executive Officer**

The Community Development Officer shall be the non-voting Executive Officer to the Committee.

The Executive Officer shall:

- provide executive support to the Committee;
- be responsible for preparing the agenda and minutes of Committee meetings;
- be responsible for preparing a report to the Council containing the minutes;
   and, providing staff comment on the recommendations made by the Committee to the Council;
- provide to the Committee the outcome and resolutions of the Council regarding each recommendation.

## **MEETING PRACTICE**

### **Code of Meeting Practice**

The meeting procedures outlined in the Council's Code of Meeting Practice shall guide the meeting procedures of the Committee unless otherwise outlined below.

## **Office Holders**

The Chair of the Committee shall be a Councillor.

The Deputy Chair shall not be a Councillor or member of Council Staff.

These positions shall be determined by an election at the first meeting of a new term of the committee.

## **Frequency of Meetings**

Meetings shall be held at least six (6) times every year at a time and date agreed by the Committee. On the last meeting of each year, the Committee will agree upon the meeting schedule for the following year.

# **Meeting Protocol**

- An agenda will be prepared and distributed 3 working days before each meeting, together with the minutes of the previous meeting.
- A quorum of members is required at all meetings and shall be 50% plus one of all voting members.
- Members, including service providers, not playing a constructive role in the Committee or not attending for three (3) meetings without apologies, can be removed by Council resolution.

# **Minutes and Reports to Council**

- Minutes of meetings will be kept of all meetings and will be reported to the Council.
- Minutes of the Committee meetings may be ratified by email. Minutes must be ratified by at least three (3) members of the committee who were in attendance at the meeting.
- The Minutes of the meeting will be submitted to the Council as soon as possible after the minutes have been ratified.
- The ratified Minutes of the meeting shall be presented to the next meeting of the Committee.