

# LITHGOW CITY COUNCIL TRAFFIC AUTHORITY LOCAL COMMITTEE Terms of Reference

#### **Committee Name**

Traffic Authority Local Committee (Committee)

#### **Establishment**

This Committee is a statutory requirement under the Transport Administration Act 1988 and the Roads Act 1993.

## **Delegations**

The Council must refer all traffic related matters to the LTC prior to exercising its delegated functions.

## **Financial Arrangements**

Unless expressly resolved by Council the Committee has no powers to commit nor expend any Council funds.

#### **Term of the Committee**

This is an ongoing Statutory Committee under the Transport Administration Act 1988 and the Roads Act 1993.

# Committee's Responsibilities

The principal responsibilities of the Committee are to:

Review all traffic related matters on public roads

# **Councillor Membership**

In September each year, the Council shall nominate 2 Councillors to the Committee, one being an alternate.

The Mayor by virtue of holding the office of Mayor, is appointed as a member of all committees established by Council. The appointment of the Mayor as a member of any committee established by the Council need not be taken into account when determining a Quorum for a meeting of the Committee. (Council policy 9.2)

#### **Committee Membership**

The LTC is to be made up of four formal members. The members are as follows;

- one representative of Council
- one representative of the NSW Police
- one representative of the RMS
- the local State Member of Parliament (MP) or their nominee.

The Council's representative may be any Councillor or Council officer. The Council representative may be a sub-delegate if Council has formally approved this.

The Council may decide to have additional informal non-voting advisors to the LTC who can provide input into the process being the General Manager or his nominee.

#### **Committee Member Responsibilities**

- Observation and compliance with Council's Code of Conduct.
- Observation and compliance with Council's OHS system objectives and instructions.

## **Term of Office of Committee Representatives**

The Committee membership shall be ongoing with the Councillor delegates elected every 12 months.

#### **Executive Officer**

The Group Manager Operations shall be the Executive Officer to the Committee.

The Executive Officer shall:

- provide executive support to the Committee;
- be responsible for preparing the agenda and minutes of Committee meetings;
- be responsible for preparing a report to the Council containing the minutes; and, providing staff comment on the recommendations made by the Committee to the Council; and
- provide to the Committee the outcome and resolutions of the Council regarding each recommendation.

#### **MEETING PRACTICE**

#### **Code of Meeting Practice**

The meeting procedures outlined in the Council's Code of Meeting Practice shall guide the meeting procedures of the Committee unless otherwise outlined below.

#### **Office Holders**

The Chair of the Committee shall be a Councillor.

The Deputy Chair shall not be a Councillor or member of Council Staff.

These positions shall be determined by an election at the first meeting of a new term of the committee.

## Frequency of meetings

Meetings shall be held at least every 4 weeks on a day and at a time to be determined by the committee. On the last meeting of each year, the Committee will agree upon meeting schedule for the following year.

# **Meeting Protocol**

- An agenda will be prepared and distributed 3 working days before each meeting, together with the minutes of the previous meeting.
- A quorum of members is required at all meetings and shall be 5 voting members.

#### **Minutes and Reports to Council**

- Minutes of meetings will be kept of all meetings and will be reported to the Council.
- The Minutes of the meeting will be submitted to the Council as soon as possible.
- The Minutes of the meeting shall be presented to the next meeting of the Committee.