

LITHGOW CITY COUNCIL COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE Terms of Reference

Committee Name

Community Development Advisory Committee ("The Committee")

Establishment

The Committee is established under section 355 of the Local Government Act 1993 which states:

A function of a council may, subject to this Chapter, be exercised: (b) by a committee of the council

Resolutions

Resolution to vary the Terms of Reference to increase the number of community representatives from four (4) to six (6): Ordinary Council Meeting 2 June 2014 Min 14-247.

Resolution to establish Committee and include the functions of Community Recognition Advisory Committee and Sister City Advisory Committee : Minute 12-353: Ordinary Council Meeting 15 October 2012.

Resolution of Council to update the Terms of Reference of all Council's Advisory Committees: Min 09-381 Ordinary Meeting of Council 14 September 2009

Resolution to establish the Community Recognition Advisory Committee: Minute P08- 105 Policy and Strategy Committee 2 September 2008 and Minute O08-215 Ordinary Meeting of Council 15 December 2005

Amendment to Terms of Reference of Community Recognition Advisory Committee: Minute 09-381 Ordinary Meeting of Council 14 September 2009.

Resolution of Council to establish the Sister City Advisory Committee: Minute 07-254 Ordinary Meeting of Council 18 June 2007 Resolution of Council to adopt Terms of Reference of Sister City Advisory Committee: Min: 07-467 Policy and Strategy Meeting 5 November 2007

Resolution to adopt the Terms of Reference: Minute 17-15 Ordinary Council Meeting 27 February 2017.

Delegations:

• The Committee has no delegations from the Council other than awarding Australia Day Local Citizenship awards.

Financial arrangements:

Unless expressly resolved by Council the Committee has no powers to commit nor expend any Council funds.

Term of the Committee

The Committee shall function until the next Council election.

The Council reserves the right to dissolve the Committee at any time by a resolution of the Council.

Committee's Responsibilities:

The principal responsibilities of the Committee are to provide advice to Council on:

Community Development

- Relevant community service matters.
- Council's community engagement processes.
- Planning for community celebration events during Australia Day, Seniors Week, NAIDOC Week and Children's Week.
- Advise Council on community groups to receive financial assistance.

Community Recognition

- Recognition of significant people in the Lithgow Local Government area.
- Naming of places, roads and associated infrastructure in the Lithgow Local Government area.
- Awarding Australia Day Local Citizenship awards

Disability Access

- Identify the access needs of frail aged people and/or people living with a disability within the Lithgow Local Government Area.
- Identify strategies to improve access to and within public buildings, parks and other public facilities, and inclusion in community life
- Inform and educate the community about access and inclusion issues.

• Assist in the development of the Disability Inclusion Action Plan as required by the NSW Disability Inclusion Act 2014.

Sister Cities

- Management of Sister City relationships and the review of Sister City Memorandums of Understanding;
- Assessment of proposals for Sister City relationships with other cities with consideration of:
 - economic development opportunities offered by the friendship;
 - Commonality of industrial or cultural aspects;
 - Opportunities for the exchange of ideas;
 - Opportunity for cultural or educational student exchanges;
 - Opportunities to learn from other communities in management of the environment, arts and culture, community facilities, employment generation and youth;
 - Opportunities to link people with similar social and cultural aspirations.
- Hosting of delegations from Sister Cities as they visit Lithgow.

Councillor Membership

In September each year, the Council shall nominate 2 Councillors to the Committee.

The Mayor by virtue of holding the office of Mayor, is appointed as a member of all committees established by Council. The appointment of the Mayor as a member of any committee established by the Council need not be taken into account when determining a Quorum for a meeting of the Committee. (Council policy 9.2)

Committee Membership

The Committee will be comprised of the following representation:

- Two Councillors
- Lithgow City Council General Manager or nominee
- 1 member of the retail and business services sector
- 6 members of the community including one (1) community representative with a disability or frail aged or caring for a person who is frail aged and one (1) representative of organisations involved in advocacy for and/or the provision of services for people with a disability or people that are frail aged.

Other community representatives may be called upon as and when required.

Committee Member Responsibilities

- Observation and compliance with Council's Code of Conduct.
- Observation and compliance with Council's OHS system objectives and instructions.

Appointment

All members of the Committee will be appointed by a resolution of the Council. A member ceases to be a member of a Committee if the member (other than the Mayor)

- (a) Has been absent from 3 consecutive meetings of the committee without having given reasons acceptable to the committee for the members absences; or
- (b) Has been absent from at least half of the meetings of the Committee held during the immediately preceding year without having given to the Committee acceptable reasons for the member's absence.

Term of Office of Committee Representatives

The Committee shall be formed following invitation to join the Committee. The term of office shall be for the term of Council unless otherwise resolved by the Council.

Executive Officer

The Manager Community and Culture shall be the Executive Officer to the Committee.

The Executive Officer shall:

- provide executive support to the Committee;
- be responsible for preparing the agenda and minutes of Committee meetings;
- be responsible for preparing a report to the Council containing the minutes; and, providing staff comment on the recommendations made by the Committee to the Council; and
- provide to the Committee the outcome and resolutions of the Council regarding each recommendation.

MEETING PRACTICE

Code of Meeting Practice

The meeting procedures outlined in the Council's Code of Meeting Practice shall guide the meeting procedures of the Committee unless otherwise outlined below.

Office Holders

The Chair shall call be a Councillor.

The Deputy Chair will not be a Councillor or member of staff.

These positions shall be determined by an election at the first meeting of a new term of the committee.

Frequency of Meetings

Meetings shall be held at least every two months on a day and at a time to be determined by the committee. On the last meeting of each year, the Committee will agree upon the meeting schedule for the following year.

Meeting Protocol

- An agenda will be prepared and distributed 3 working days before each meeting, together with the minutes of the previous meeting.
- A quorum of members is required at all meetings and shall be 50% plus one of all voting members.

Minutes and Reports to Council

- Minutes of meetings will be kept of all meetings and will be reported to the Council.
- Minutes of the Committee meetings may be ratified by email. Minutes must be ratified by at least three (3) members of the committee who were in attendance at the meeting.
- The Minutes of the meeting will be submitted to the Council as soon as possible after the minutes have been ratified.
- The ratified Minutes of the meeting shall be presented to the next meeting of the Committee.