

# LITHGOW CITY COUNCIL CRIME PREVENTION COMMITTEE Terms of Reference

#### Committee name

Lithgow Crime Prevention Committee (Committee)

#### Establishment

The Committee is established under section 355 of the Local Government Act 1993 which states:

A function of a council may, subject to this Chapter, be exercised: (b) by a committee of the council

#### Resolutions

*Resolution to establish the Committee:* Min: Minute 09-396: Ordinary Council Meeting 14 September 2009

*Resolution to adopt the Terms of Reference:* Minute 09-396 Ordinary Council Meeting 14 September 2009

Resolution of Council to update the Terms of Reference of all Council's Advisory Committees: Council Meeting on 14 September 2009 Min 09-381

Resolution of Council to amend the Terms of Reference to remove membership of Domestic Violence Liaison Committee and to reduce quorum to five (5) members: Council Meeting on 12 December 2012 Min 12-511

Resolution of Council to amend the Terms of Reference to include two community representatives: Council meeting 17 June 2013 Min 13-209.

Resolution to adopt the Terms of Reference: Minute 17-15 Ordinary Council Meeting 27 February 2017.

# Delegations

The Committee has no delegations from the Council.

# Financial arrangements

Unless expressly resolved by Council the Committee has no powers to commit nor expend any Council funds.

# Term of the Committee

The Committee shall operate for a period of two years.

The Council reserves the right to dissolve the Committee at any time by a resolution of the Council.

# Committee's responsibilities

The principal responsibilities of the Committee are to:

- Provide advice to Council on crime issues in Lithgow.
- Assist in the identification and implementation of crime prevention strategies.
- Monitor and provide input into the implementation of the Lithgow Crime Prevention Plan.
- Actively contribute and participate in local crime prevention initiatives.

# **Councillor membership**

In September each year, the Council shall nominate 2 Councillors to the Committee.

The Mayor by virtue of holding the office of Mayor, is appointed as a member of all committees established by Council. The appointment of the Mayor as a member of any committee established by the Council need not be taken into account when determining a Quorum for a meeting of the Committee. (Council policy 9.2)

# Committee membership

The Committee will be comprised of the following representation:

- Two Councillors
- Lithgow City Council General Manager or his nominee
- Lithgow Police
- Lithgow District Chamber of Commerce
- Lithgow Liquor Accord
- Housing NSW
- Two community representatives

# Council officers (non-voting)

• Manager Community and Culture

Other representatives may be called upon as and when required.

# Committee member responsibilities

- Observation and compliance with Council's Code of Conduct.
- Observation and compliance with Council's OHS system objectives and instructions.

# Appointment

All members of the Committee will be appointed by a resolution of the Council.

# Term of office of Committee Representatives

The Committee shall be formed following invitation to join the Committee. The term of office shall be the term of Council unless otherwise resolved by the Council.

#### **Executive Officer**

The Manager Community and Culture shall be the Executive Officer to the Committee.

The Executive Officer shall:

- provide executive support to the Committee;
- be responsible for preparing the agenda and minutes of Committee meetings;
- be responsible for preparing a report to the Council containing the minutes; and, providing staff comment on the recommendations made by the Committee to the Council; and
- provide to the Committee the outcome and resolutions of the Council regarding each recommendation.

# **MEETING PRACTICE**

#### **Code of Meeting Practice**

The meeting procedures outlined in the Council's Code of Meeting Practice shall guide the meeting procedures of the Committee unless otherwise outlined below.

A member ceases to be a member of a Committee if the member (other than the Mayor)

- (a) has been absent for 3 consecutive meetings of the committee without having given reasons acceptable to the Committee for the members absences; or
- (b) has been absent from at least half of the meetings of the Committee held during the immediately preceding year without having given to the Committee acceptable reasons for the member's absence.

# Office holders

The Chair (The Mayor or a Councillor appointed by the Council) shall call for nominations for the position of Deputy Chair at the first meeting after the Committee is established.

The Chair and Deputy Chair shall be appointed for a period of 1 year.

The Deputy Chair will not be a Councillor or member of staff.

#### Frequency of meetings

Meetings shall be held at least every three months on a day and at a time to be determined by the committee.

#### Meeting protocol

- An agenda will be prepared and distributed 3 working days before each meeting, together with the minutes of the previous meeting.
- A quorum of members is required at all meetings and shall be 5 voting members.

#### **Minutes and Reports to Council**

- Minutes of meetings will be kept of all meetings and will be reported to the Council.
- Minutes of the Committee meetings may be ratified by email. Minutes must be ratified by at least three (3) members of the committee who were in attendance at the meeting.
- The Minutes of the meeting will be submitted to the Council as soon as possible after the minutes have been ratified.
- The ratified Minutes of the meeting shall be presented to the next meeting of the Committee.