Lithgow Council Urges Community Submissions to Youth Suicide Inquiry

The Lithgow community is being urged to make submissions to the current inquiry into youth suicide being undertaken by the NSW Parliament’s Committee on Children and Young People.

‘There has been a great deal of concern within the local community about the level of suicide, particularly youth suicide,” said Lithgow City Council Mayor, Stephen Lesslie. “These concerns were highlighted at the December 2016 Mental Health Summit and have since been further considered by the Mayor’s Mental Health Taskforce. I welcome this inquiry being held and note that it will be considering issues that have been raised as matters of concern in Lithgow including service gaps, service coordination and appropriate training.”

The current Parliamentary Inquiry Terms of Reference are that the Committee on Children and Young People inquire into and report on the current approaches aimed at preventing youth suicide in New South Wales, with particular reference to:

a.​Any gaps in the coordination and integration of suicide prevention activities and programs across all levels of government
b. ​Governance arrangements and accountabilities for suicide prevention
c. ​Provision of services in local communities, particularly in regional and rural areas
d. ​Provision of services for vulnerable and at-risk groups
e. ​Data collection about the incidence of youth suicide and attempted suicide
f. ​Provision of high-quality information and training to service providers
g. ​Approaches taken by primary and secondary schools
h. ​Any other related matters.

For the purpose of this inquiry, ‘young person’ is someone aged 12 to 25 years.
Submissions close on 31 August 2017 and are to be forwarded to:
Parliament of New South Wales
Macquarie Street
Sydney NSW 2000

Council will be making a submission to the inquiry and also asking that the inquiry hold a public hearing in Lithgow.


​Stephen Lesslie Mayor
Tel: 02 6354 9999
Fax: 02 6351 4259

Matthew Johnson
Manager Community and Culture
Tel: 02 6354 9999
Fax: 02 6351 4259

Print Friendly, PDF & Email