Lithgow Declared Refugee Welcome Zone

Following a recent resolution of Council to declare Lithgow City a Refugee Welcome Zone, Mayor Stephen Lesslie officially will sign the Declaration at the Lithgow Library on Wednesday 22 November 2017 at 5pm.

“I am delighted to be able to sign this declaration on behalf of Lithgow City Council and the community of Lithgow City,” said Mayor Stephen Lesslie. “The declaration reflects a recognition that there are many people across the world, including in our own neighborhood, who through no fault of their own, are in desperate need of asylum and new opportunities for themselves and their families.”

The Refugee Welcome Zone Declaration is a Commitment to:

Welcoming refugees into our community, 

Upholding the Human Rights of refugees,

Demonstrating Compassion for refugees and

Enhancing cultural and religious Diversity in our community.”

“I think it is vitally important that we send the message to refugees and asylum seekers that we have an appreciation of their dire circumstances and that we extend a welcome to them to our community.”  

“I would like to acknowledge the work of the Lithgow Asylum Seeker and Refugee Support Group (LASARS) which brought this matter to Council’s attention and which is doing very good work in the community to support refugees and asylum seekers and to raise awareness of their needs,” concluded the Mayor.


Stephen Lesslie                                                                                            
Tel: 02 6354 9999                                                              
Fax: 02 6351 4259


Matthew Johnson
Manager Community and Culture
Tel: 02 6354 9999                                                                                     
Fax: 02 6351 4259


Print Friendly, PDF & Email