Lithgow’s Position More Certain

Premier Mike Baird and Local Government Minister Paul Toole today announced that Lithgow City Council will be standing alone and be a local authority in its own right under the local government reform process.

It was announced that many councils will be merged and at the end of the process there are expected to be 40 fewer councils in NSW. It is proposed that there will be a reduction from 43 to 25 councils in the Sydney metropolitan area while in rural and regional NSW council numbers will be reduced from 109 to 87. Hence there will be a total of 112 councils at the end of the process.

“Throughout the local government reform process the direction identified for Lithgow has been clear and our position has been clear” said Lithgow City Council Mayor, Councillor Maree Statham “the Independent Local Government Review Panel (ILGRP) identified that Lithgow be a stand alone council as part of the Central West Joint Organisation of Councils. The Panel identified that Lithgow has sufficient scale and capacity to be a stand-alone council in its own right.”

“Earlier this year Council made a submission to IPART which also stated that the Council’s proposal is consistent with the ILGRP’s option to stand alone” said Mayor Statham.

Further to this IPART also stated that “Our analysis has not identified evidence for a better alternative to the council’s proposal to stand alone.”

“In addition:

  • TCorp assessed Council as being financially sustainable, with a ‘Sound’ financial sustainability rating
  • Lithgow City Council was involved in an amalgamation process in 2004 where areas of the former Evans and Rylstone shires were included in the Lithgow LGA.
  • Lithgow City Council has a long track record of operating under regional arrangements, including shared services and resource sharing through CENTROC and strategic alliances.
  • Council is operating as per the Independent Review Panel Recommendation as a Council in a Joint Organisation
  • Lithgow City Council is a strong performer in the delivery of large capital projects partnering with State and Federal Government funding bodies
  • Council participates in the NSW Local Government Professionals Operational and Management Effectiveness Survey demonstrating Council’s commitment to benchmarking performance and enabling management decisions to improve its performance”

“Through its recent winning of the AR Bluett Memorial Award Lithgow Council has demonstrated that it is progressive, innovative and improving. This has been a very significant achievement in terms of Local Government in NSW and the ability of the Council. It is the panicle award for councils in NSW.”

“I am pleased that the announcement has now been made and while there is still more to occur before the process is over it is terrific news that we will continue to be a local council representing our wonderful local community” concluded Mayor Statham.


Councillor Maree Statham
Tel: 02 6354 9999
Fax: 02 6351 4259



Print Friendly, PDF & Email