Nominations for Community Development and Heritage Advisory Committees

Council is seeking nominations for representatives to the following committees:

 Community Development Committee

The principal responsibilities of the Community Development Committee include

advising Council on:

  • Relevant community service matters.
  • Council’s community engagement processes.
  • Planning for community celebration events during Australia Day, Seniors Week,
  • NAIDOC Week and Children’s Week.
  • The access needs of frail aged people and/or people living with a disability.


The Committee includes members from the community, community groups, people and organisations representing people with a disability or the frail aged, Councillors and Council staff. The Committee meets bi-monthly.

Council is seeking nominations for:

Three community members of the community including individuals or organisations representing people with a disability/ the frail aged/carers.


Heritage Advisory Committee

The Lithgow Local Heritage Advisory Committee aims to assist Council in the management, promotion and preservation of local environmental and cultural heritage items and places.

The Committee includes members from the community, community heritage groups, Councillors and Council staff. The Committee meets quarterly.

A position is currently available on the Committee for someone to represent the local business, property and development sector.

How to Nominate

Your nomination should include the following:

  • Your name and address
  • A short paragraph outlining your interest in joining the committee and your experience, skills or local knowledge relevant to the vacancy.

Nominations will then be presented to Council which will consider all nominations and determine the appointed member to the Committees.

A copy of the adopted Terms of Reference for the Committees is available on Council’s website Further information can be obtained by contacting Matthew Johnson (Community Development Committee) or Sherilyn Hanrahan (Heritage Advisory Committee) on 02 6354 9999 or via email at


Nominations close Friday 26 April 2019

Print Friendly, PDF & Email