Winners of the 2019 Waste 2 Art Competition Announced


Winners of the Waste 2 Art competition were announced by the Mayor Ray Thompson, at the official opening on Saturday 8th June at Eskbank House Museum.


Local artists of all ages have creatively given new life to waste materials as part of the Waste 2 Art competition and exhibition. The competition, a Netwaste initiative, encourages people to make artwork or functional objects in order to raise awareness of environmental issues.


“Waste to Art has been an important event in our cultural calendar since the initiative began. It’s a way for the community to look at issues surrounding waste and come up with creative ways to reuse materials often discarded after a single use. The competition reflects the creativity of our community, from primary school age to professional artists, and I have no doubt that the winning artworks will reflect this talent at the Regional competition,” said Mayor Ray Thompson.


Judges of the 2019 competition had a difficult task deciding on the winners for each category.  Judges Sharon Howard, Director of Gang Gang Gallery, and Nigel Campbell, Waste & Recycling Coordinator for Lithgow City Council were happy to see a number of new entrants as well as the continued high standards produced by local artists.   


The following winning artists were chosen by the judges to represent Lithgow in the Regional Competition in Oberon:

Primary 2D – Dia MacNamara

Primary 3D – Zig Zag Primary School


Secondary 2D – Kayley Winks

Secondary 3D – Samantha Winks

Secondary Functional – Samantha Winks

Community 2D – Tina Cass

Community 3D – Wendy Kirk 

Open 2D – Wendy Anne Hawkes

Open 3D – Helen Munro

Open Functional – Cathy MacNamara


See all the entries at Eskbank House Museum before the exhibition closes on Sunday 14th July.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email