Winners of ‘We are Waste Wise’ Primary School Art Competition

Such Fantastic Entries made the judging extremely difficult!

Lithgow City Council is proud to present the results of our first ‘We Are Waste Wise’ Primary School Art Competition in 2020.The theme for the competition was ‘Our Place Our Future’ and students were asked to draw a picture about what they think is special about their local environment.

 Lithgow City Council Mayor Ray Thompson said, ‘The entries were fabulous! We had 114 entries covering a wide range of environmental themes and local landmarks including the Blast Furnace, Queen Elizabeth Park, Lake Lyell, Lithgow Railway Bridge, Wollemi Pine and more. It really is so encouraging to see so much artistic talent in the young people of our area.’

The results:

  • Tyler Glover from Lithgow Public School took out the Overall Winner prize with his colourful picture of the Blast Furnace.
  • Molly Lambert from Meadow Flat Public School was Runner Up with her beautifully detailed picture of a koala in nature.
  • The Encouragement Award went to young Braxton Burgess from Lithgow Public School for his striking picture of the Wollemi Pine.
  • Mikayla Johnson from Cooerwull Public School won the Best Local Landscape/Landmark with her eye catching picture of Queen Elizabeth Park.

The finalists:

  • Nellie Griffiths and Rhys Callaghan (Portland Central School)
  • Niamh Jenkins (Hampton Public School)
  • Kayleigh Northey, Holly Parker, Kaira Hughes, Natalia Melnyk, Jayden Judson and Isaac Beckett (Cooerwull Public School)

Thank you to the teachers and students for the hard work in submitting such beautiful entries.  If you would like to view the winning entries please follow the link