Youth Week Photo Competition Winners Announced!

The winners of the Lithgow Youth Week 2015 Photo Competition have been announced with Madison Edwards taking out first place.

Lithgow City Council recently held a photography competition as part of National Youth Week 2015, asking local young people aged 11-24 years to submit their own photos to the Lithgow Youth Council Facebook page, after which the public voted for their favourite. Young people were asked to photograph what Youth Week and being a young person in the Lithgow LGA means to them. All the entries were well received by the public, and depict the fun and adventure had by our local young people during Youth Week 2015.

Lithgow City Council Mayor Maree Statham and Councillor Frank Inzitari presented prizes to the winners at a Youth council meeting in Council Chambers on Wednesday 26 May 2015. Larissa Brodie and Ebony Brown received second and third place and all received some fantastic prizes including a GoPro, iPad Mini and a $200 Harvey Norman Voucher, all of which will no doubt assist their love of photography. Over 500 people voted for the entries, with Madison receiving 139, Larissa receiving 112 and Ebony receiving 81.

“Each year thousands of young people from across Australia join together to get involved in National Youth Week to recognise the many positive contributions young people make to our communities,” said Lithgow City Council Mayor Maree Statham. “This year the theme for National Youth Week was ‘It Starts With Us’ and this really highlights the idea that young people have a very valuable influence on their community, so the photography competition was a great opportunity for local young people to showcase their skills and abilities.” concluded the Mayor.

Excellent photos were also entered by Ebony Shepherd, Miranda Swift, Benjawan Bansuntiah, Lachlan Willis, Jess Willis, Lara McNair, Mitchell Beltran, Kane Beltran, Chloe Hosa, Ben Allan and Elena Bailey. Thank you to all the creative young people that entered and shared their photos helping us celebrate Youth Week 2015.

Improving the quality of life of Lithgow’s youth forms part of Council’s Caring for our Community strategies in the Community Strategic Plan 2026.









Mayor Maree Statham
Tel: 02 6354 9999
Fax: 02 6351 4259


Melanie Jones
Community Development Officer
Tel: 02 6354 9999
Fax: 02 6351 4259

Print Friendly, PDF & Email