

Circular to Councils

Circular Details	Circular No 16-32 / 9 September 2016 / A511602	
Previous Circular	16-30 Local Government Amendment (Governance and	
	Planning) Act 2016	
Who should read this	Councillors / General Managers	
Contact	Council Governance 02 4428 4100 olg@olg.nsw.gov.au	
Action required	Oaths and affirmations of office to be taken at the first meeting	

Oath or affirmation of office by councillors

What's new or changing

- As a result of the recent amendments to the Local Government Act 1993, councillors (including mayors) are now required to take an oath or affirmation of office. The prescribed words of the oath and affirmation are contained in the attachment to this Circular.
- Oaths or affirmations of office must be taken by each councillor at or before the first meeting of the council after being elected.

What this will mean for your council

- Each council will need to make arrangements for the oath or affirmation to be taken by each councillor at the first meeting of a newly-elected council or at a newly-elected councillor's first meeting following a by-election.
- Councillors should be made aware of this requirement prior to the first meeting of a newly-elected council or the newly-elected councillor's first meeting following a by-election.
- An oath or affirmation should be taken by each councillor as the first item of business for the meeting.
- The general manager must ensure that a record is kept of the taking of the oath or affirmation. This can be done by way of a signed statement containing the oath or affirmation or by recording the taking of the oath or affirmation by each councillor in the minutes of the council meeting.
- If the councillor is unable to attend the first council meeting, he or she may take the oath or affirmation of office at another location in front of the general manager.
- The oath or affirmation of office may also be taken before an Australian legal practitioner or a Justice of the Peace.
- The taking of the oath or affirmation outside a council meeting must be publically recorded by the council.
- Where an oath or affirmation is taken outside a council meeting, a council staff member should also be present to ensure that an accurate record can be kept by the council.

Key points

- A councillor who fails, without a reasonable excuse, to take the oath or affirmation of office, will not be entitled to attend council meetings until they do so and will be taken to be absent without leave.
- If a councillor is absent without leave for three consecutive ordinary council meetings their office is automatically declared vacant and a by-election must be held.

Where to go for further information

• For further information contact the Office of Local Government's Council Governance Team on 02 4428 4100.

Tim Hurst Acting Chief Executive

Oath

I [name of councillor] swear that I will undertake the duties of the office of councillor in the best interests of the people of [name of council area] and the [name of council] and that I will faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in me under the Local Government Act 1993 or any other Act to the best of my ability and judgment.

Affirmation

I [name of councillor] solemnly and sincerely declare and affirm that I will undertake the duties of the office of councillor in the best interests of the people of [name of council area] and the [name of council] and that I will faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in me under the Local Government Act 1993 or any other Act to the best of my ability and judgment.

16 – 246 RESOLVED

THAT Council:

1. Appoints councillor and others to the following S355 Committees of Council and External Committees and Organisations.

Committees	2046/47 Danmas antation
	2016/17 Representative
Environmental Advisory	Councillor Ring
	Councillor Coleman
Operations Committee	Councillor Cox
	Councillor Ring
	Councillor McAndrew
Traffic Advisory Local (TALC)	Councillor Smith
Sports Advisory Committee	Councillor Smith
	Councillor Cox
Internal Audit Committee	Councillor Ticehurst
	Councillor McAndrew (Alternate)
Lithgow Tourism Advisory	Councillor Statham
	Councillor Ring
Economic Development Advisory	Councillor Coleman
· ·	Councillor Statham
Community Development	Councillor Coleman
	Councillor Statham
Youth Advisory Committee	Councillor Lesslie
,	Councillor Coleman
Lithgow Crime Prevention	Cr Coleman
CBD Revitalisation Action Plan Committee	The Mayor and the Chairs of
	TALC, ÉDAC, TAC and
	Operations committees.
Mining Taskforce	Councillor Lesslie
	Councillor Thompson
	Councillor McAndrew
Business and Industry Investment	Councillor Lesslie
,	Councillor Thompson
	Councillor McAndrew
General Manager Performance Review	All Councillors
Arts Out West Committee	Councillor Lesslie
7 the Gut West Committee	Councillor Ecocilio
Bells Line of Road Group	Councillor Ticehurst
Bono Enio di Roda Group	Councillor Statham
NSW Rural Fire Service Senior	Councillor Lesslie
Management Team	Codition Lossine
Lithgow Information & Neighbourhood	Councillor Thompson
Centre Inc (LINC)	Councillor Cox (alternate)
Upper Macquarie County Council	Councillor Thompson
	Councillor Thompson Councillor Lesslie
	Councillor Lessile

Centroc	Councillor Lesslie General Manager
Pine Dale Coal Mine Community	Councillor Thompson
Committee	
Cullen Valley Coal Mine Community	Councillor Lesslie
Committee	
Invincible Coal Mine Community	Councillor Lesslie
Committee	
Clarence Coal Mine Community	Councillor Thompson
Committee	
Centennial Coal Western Community	Councillor Statham
Consultative Committee	
Association of Mining Related Councils	Councillor McAndrew
Lithgow Correctional Centre Committee	Councillor Coleman
Airly Mine Community Consultative	Councillor McAndrew
Committee	
Newnes Sand and Kaolin Project	Councillor Lesslie
Community Consultative Committee	
Inglenook Exploration Community Liaison	Councillor Thompson
Committee	
Eskbank Rail Heritage Centre Committee	Councillor Ring
Wolgan Valley Wilderness Railway	Councillor Coleman
Committee	
Rural Fire Service Lithgow District Liaison	Councillor Lesslie
Committee	Councillor Statham
Wallerawang Quarry Consultative	Councillor Smith
Committee	
Skillset	Councillor Statham
Heritage Committee	Councillor Lesslie
	Councillor Ring