

LITHGOW CITY COUNCIL COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE Terms of Reference

Committee Name

Community Development Advisory Committee (Committee)

Establishment

The Committee is established under section 355 of the Local Government Act 1993 which states:

A function of a council may, subject to this Chapter, be exercised: (b) by a committee of the council

Resolutions

The Committee may make recommendations to the Council; however, recommendations do not constitute a resolution of the Council.

Delegations

The Committee has no delegations from the Council other than awarding Australia Day Local Citizenship award.

Financial Arrangements

Unless expressly resolved by Council, the Committee has no powers to commit nor expend any Council funds.

Term of the Committee

The Committee shall operate for the term of the Council.

The Council reserves the right to dissolve the Committee at any time by a resolution of the Council.

Committee's Responsibilities

The principal responsibilities of the Committee are to provide advice to Council on:

Community Programs and Opportunities

• The resilience of local community services and opportunities for collective advocacy to address gaps

- Council's community programming and engagement processes
- Community celebrations and observances such as Seniors Week, NAIDOC Week and Children's Week

Community Recognition

• Recognition of people who make significant contributions to the community of Lithgow – naming conventions for public spaces and facilities, award nominations

Access and Inclusion

• Provide advice to the Council in the delivery of the Disability Inclusion Action Plan as required by the NSW Disability Inclusion Act 2014

• Provide advice to Council on matters of Disability Inclusion and Access about development applications, significant place making or capital works programs

• Support Council to identify opportunities to advocate and utilize compliance regulations to educate and improve accessibility in non-Council owned facilities and spaces

• Work with Council to identify and promote opportunities to enhance other forms of access and inclusion for all members of the community and especially groups vulnerable to exclusion and those living with intersectional disadvantages

Sister Cities

- Management of Sister City relationships and MOU
- Hosting of delegations from Sister Cities as they visit Lithgow.

Working Groups

Under guidance from the Administration, the Council or Committee may convene working parties to research and advise Council on research projects approved by Council following development and recommendations from the Administration. The Working Group will report to the applicable Committee (not directly to Council) and advice will be provided to the Committee by way of written report and recommendations prior to it being received by Council.

The working groups will be appointed from a list of suitably qualified or experienced community volunteers, and they will be established through a public EOI process for periods no longer than 6 months. At the end of this period the working party will report to the Committee on the outcome of their research relevant to Council's original request.

The list of participating community volunteers will be compiled and kept current by the Administration. Each working party will be governed by a standard constitution that mandates compliance with Council's Code of Conduct and adherence to the requirements of the Local Government Act 1993.

Complex Working Groups may require a Terms of Reference and Project Scope to ensure that agreed outcomes are achieved and potential conflicts of interest are managed appropriately. In such cases, the Administration will prepare a brief Terms of Reference and Project Scope for the approval of the Committee prior to forming the Working Party.

Councillor Membership

Periodically and at least at the commencement of the Council term, the Council shall nominate 2 Councillors, including the Mayor.

The Mayor by virtue of holding the office of Mayor, is appointed as a member of all committees established by Council. The appointment of the Mayor as a member of any committee established by the Council need not be considered when determining a quorum for a meeting of the Committee.

Committee Membership

The Committee will be comprised of the following representation:

- 2 Councillors (including the Mayor),
- Lithgow City Council General Manager or nominee
- 1 representative of the local business community
- 6 members of the community including one (1) person with a disability or a carer of a person with disability
- (1) representative of organisations involved in advocacy for and/or the provision of services for people with a disability

Council Officers

- Manager Community and Culture
- Community Development Officer

The voting members shall be:

- Councillor members
- At least 6 non-Councillor Community members of the Committee

Committee Member Responsibilities

- Compliance with Council's Code of Conduct.
- Compliance with Council's WHS system and instructions.
- Compliance with Council's Social Media Policy.

Appointment

All members of the Committee will be appointed by a resolution of the Council.

A member ceases to be a member of the Committee if the member (other than the Mayor):

- has been absent for three consecutive meetings of the Committee without having given reasons acceptable to the Committee for the member's absence; or
- has been absent from at least half of the meetings of the Committee held during the immediately preceding year without having given reasons acceptable to the Committee for the member's absence.

Term of Office for Committee Representatives

The Committee shall be formed following invitation to join the Committee. The term of office shall be for the term of the Council unless otherwise resolved by Council.

Executive Officer

The responsible Director, or nominee shall be the Executive Officer to the Committee. The Executive Officer shall:

- organise executive support for the Committee;
- organise preparation of the agenda and minutes of Committee meetings;
- be responsible for preparing a report to the Council containing the minutes; and staff commentary on the recommendations made by the Committee to the Council; and
- provide to the Committee the outcome and resolutions of the Council regarding each recommendation.

MEETING PRACTICE

Code of Meeting Practice

The meeting procedures outlined in the Council's Code of Meeting Practice shall guide the meeting procedures of the Committee unless otherwise stated below.

Office Holders

The Chair and Deputy Chair be appointed by the Committee at the first meeting of the Committee after the delegation of Councillors to the Committee.

Frequency of Meetings

Meetings shall be held at least every two months on a day and at a time to be determined by the committee.

Meeting Protocol

- An agenda will be prepared and distributed three working days before each meeting, together with the minutes of the previous meeting.
- A quorum of members is required at all meetings with at least 6 being present, either in person or virtually via the software application nominated for use by Council.

Minutes and Reports to Council

- Minutes of meetings will be kept and will be reported to Council.
- The Minutes of the meeting will be submitted to the next ordinary meeting of Council.