

LITHGOW CITY COUNCIL EMERGING ECONOMY COMMITTEE

FUNCTIONS

[s.355(b) of the Local Government Act, 1993]

Committee Name

Emerging Economy Committee (Committee)

Establishment

The Committee is established by Lithgow City Council (**Council**) under section 355(b) of the Local Government Act, 1993 which states:

A function of a council may, subject to this Chapter, be exercised: (b) by a committee of the council.

Resolutions

The Committee may make recommendations to the Council; however, recommendations do not constitute a resolution of the Council.

Delegations

The Committee has no delegations from the Council other than the delegation to determine the frequency of its meetings.

Financial Arrangements

Unless expressly resolved by Council, the Committee has no powers to commit nor expend any Council funds.

Term of the Committee

The Committee shall operate for the term of the Council.

The Council reserves the right to dissolve the Committee at any time by a resolution.

Committee's Functions

The function of the Committee is to advise Council on:

- the consequences and opportunities associated with changes to coal mining and coal-fired power generation in the Lithgow LGA particularly in relation to the impact on employment and economic activity,
- the prioritisation of initiatives which support alternative land uses of coal mining and coal-fired power generation sites,
- the prioritisation of initiatives which support the economic resilience of the Lithgow LGA by facilitated investment in alternative industries,
- the prioritisation of initiatives which support the re-deployment, re-skilling, and adaptive capacity of the workforce in the Lithgow LGA,
- the priority of such other initiatives which may contribute to the successful transition of the Lithgow LGA, and
- to provide a forum to discuss the collaboration and implementation of actions across the broad community.

Membership

Periodically and at least at the commencement of the Council term, the Council shall nominate **four** Councillors to the Committee.

The Mayor by virtue of holding the office of Mayor, is appointed as a member of all committees established by Council. The appointment of the Mayor as a member of any committee established by the Council need not be taken into account when determining a Quorum for a meeting of the Committee.

Committee Membership

The Committee is constituted as follows:

- The Mayor of Lithgow
- Cr. D. Goodwin
- Cr. T. Evangelidis
- Cr. S. Ring
- Cr. E. Fredericks
- Cr. E. Mahoney
- The General Manager

Voting members are:

- The Mayor of Lithgow
- Cr. D. Goodwin
- Cr. T. Evangelidis
- Cr. S. Ring
- Cr. E. Fredericks
- Cr. E. Mahoney

It is noted that a standing invitation is extended by Council to all Councillors to attend

as observers.

Committee Member Responsibilities

- Observation and compliance with Council's Code of Conduct.
- Observation and compliance with Council's WHS objectives and instructions.
- Observation and compliance with Council's Social Media Policy.

Appointment

All members of the Committee will be appointed by a resolution of the Council. The resolution relevant to this term of the Council is Minute Number 24-256 from the Ordinary Meeting of Council held 25 November 2024.

A member ceases to be a member of the Committee if the member (other than the Mayor):

- has been absent for three consecutive meetings of the Committee without having given reasons acceptable to the Committee for the member's absence; or
- has been absent from at least half of the meetings of the Committee held during the immediately preceding year without having given reasons acceptable to the Committee for the member's absence.

Term of Office for Committee Representatives

The Committee is formed following a resolution of Council. Any Councillor who wishes to join the Committee must make their request to the Committee for an appropriate recommendation to be made to a Council meeting. The term of office shall be for the term of the Council unless otherwise resolved by Council.

Executive Officer

Senior Manager, Economy and Strategy as a delegate of the Executive Leadership Team. The Executive Officer shall:

- organise executive support for the Committee;
- organise preparation of the agenda and minutes of Committee meetings; and
- be responsible for preparing a report to the Council containing the minutes; and staff commentary on the recommendations made by the Committee to the Council.

MEETING PRACTICE

Code of Meeting Practice

The meeting procedures outlined in the Council's Code of Meeting Practice shall guide the meeting procedures of the Committee unless otherwise stated below.

Office Holders

Both the Chair and Deputy Chair shall be Councillors appointed by the Committee at the first Committee meeting.

Frequency of Meetings

Unless the Committee determines otherwise, meetings are to be held monthly on the first Wednesday of each month at 5:00pm for the Term of the Council.

Meeting Protocol

- An agenda will be prepared and distributed five working days before each meeting, together with the minutes of the previous meeting.
- A quorum of members is required at all meetings and shall be a total of 50% of voting members, plus one.

Minutes and Reports to Council

- Minutes of meetings will be kept and will be reported to Council.
- The Minutes of the meeting will be submitted to the next ordinary meeting of Council.