

LITHGOW CITY COUNCIL INFRASTRUCTURE COMMITTEE Terms of Reference

Committee Name

Infrastructure Strategy and Planning Committee (Committee)

Establishment

The Committee is established by Lithgow City Council (**LCC**) under section 355 of the Local Government Act 1993 which states:

A function of a council may, subject to this Chapter, be exercised: (b) by a committee of the council.

Resolutions

The Committee may make recommendations to the Council; however, recommendations do not constitute a resolution of the Council.

Delegations

The Committee has no delegations from the Council.

Financial Arrangements

Unless expressly resolved by Council, the Committee has no powers to commit nor expend any Council funds.

Term of the Committee

The Committee shall operate for the term of the Council.

The Council reserves the right to dissolve the Committee at any time by a resolution of the Council.

Committee's Responsibilities

The overarching responsibility of the Operations Committee is to consider and make recommendations to the Council regarding the policies and initiatives which contribute to, and promote, the Council's strategic objectives with respect to the full range of assets managed by the Council.

The Committee will:

- 1. Provide strategic advice on and guide the development and implementation of LCC's asset direction for the region.
- 2. Advise, monitor and review progress of LCC's asset strategies, policies and determinations.
- 3. Guide and provide recommendations on LCC's asset acquisition, disposal, utilisation and management.
- 4. Align the utilisation, function and nature of LCC's property assets with Council's strategic priorities.
- 5. Determine and provide recommendations on LCC's asset funding priorities, including relevant grant applications.
- 6. Review the financial and operational progress of complex or high-value projects within the adopted operational plan including roads, drainage, recreational, buildings, waste, water, sewerage and community projects.
- 7. High-level review of the implementation of the asset maintenance programs.

Working Groups

Under guidance from the Administration, the Council or Committee may convene working parties to research and advise Council on research projects approved by Council following development and recommendations from the Administration. The Working Group will report to the applicable Committee (not directly to Council) and advice will be provided to the Committee by way of written report and recommendations prior to it being received by Council.

The working groups will be appointed from a list of suitably qualified or experienced community volunteers, and they will be established through a public EoI process for periods no longer than 6 months. At the end of this period the working party will report to the Committee on the outcome of their research relevant to Council's original request.

The list of participating community volunteers will be compiled and kept current by the Administration. Each working party will be governed by a standard constitution that mandates compliance with Council's Code of Conduct and adherence to the requirements of the Local Government Act 1993.

Complex Working Groups may require a Terms of Reference and Project Scope to ensure that agreed outcomes are achieved and potential conflicts of interest are managed appropriately. In such cases, the Administration will prepare a brief Terms of Reference and Project Scope for the approval of the Committee prior to forming the Working Party.

Councillor Membership

Periodically and at least at the commencement of the Council term, the Council shall nominate **four** Councillors to the Committee.

The Mayor by virtue of holding the office of Mayor, is appointed as a member of all committees established by Council. The appointment of the Mayor as a member of any committee established by the Council need not be taken into account when determining a Quorum for a meeting of the Committee.

Committee Membership

The Committee will be comprised of the following representation:

• Cr. C. Coleman

- Cr. S. Ring
- Cr. E. Mahoney
- Cr. R. Smith
- Cr. D. Goodwin

Voting members shall be:

- Cr. C. Coleman
- Cr. S. Ring
- Cr. E. Mahoney
- Cr. R. Smith
- Cr. D. Goodwin

Committee Member Responsibilities

- Observation and compliance with Council's Code of Conduct.
- Observation and compliance with Council's WHS objectives and instructions.
- Observation and compliance with Council's Social Media Policy.

Appointment

All members of the Committee will be appointed by a resolution of the Council. The resolution relevant to this term of the Council is Minute Number 24-256 from the Ordinary Meeting of Council held 25 November 2024.

A member ceases to be a member of the Committee if the member (other than the Mayor):

- has been absent for three consecutive meetings of the Committee without having given reasons acceptable to the Committee for the member's absence; or
- has been absent from at least half of the meetings of the Committee held during the immediately preceding year without having given reasons acceptable to the Committee for the member's absence.

Term of Office for Committee Representatives

The Committee shall be formed following a resolution of Council. Any Councillor who wishes to join the Committee must make their request to the Committee for an appropriate recommendation to be made to the next possible Council meeting. The term of office shall be for the term of the Council unless otherwise resolved by Council.

Executive Officer

The responsible Director, or nominee shall be the Executive Officer to the Committee. The Executive Officer shall:

- organise executive support for the Committee;
- organise preparation of the agenda and minutes of Committee meetings; and
- be responsible for preparing a report to the Council containing the minutes; and staff commentary on the recommendations made by the Committee to the Council.

MEETING PRACTICE

Code of Meeting Practice

The meeting procedures outlined in the Council's Code of Meeting Practice shall guide the meeting procedures of the Committee unless otherwise stated below.

Office Holders

Both the Chair and Deputy Chair shall be Councillors appointed by the Committee at the first Committee meeting.

Frequency of Meetings

Meetings shall be held once per month on a day and a time to be determined by the committee. The focus of Committee meeting agendas will alternate between the *Infrastructure and Economy*, and *Water, Wastewater and Waste* functions.

Meeting Protocol

- An agenda will be prepared and distributed five working days before each meeting, together with the minutes of the previous meeting.
- A quorum of members is required at all meetings and shall be a total of 50% of voting members, plus one.

Minutes and Reports to Council

- Minutes of meetings will be kept and will be reported to Council.
- The Minutes of the meeting will be submitted to the next ordinary meeting of Council.