

## **MINUTES**

**Sports Advisory Committee** 

held at

Council Administration Centre Council Chambers 180 Mort Street, Lithgow

on

Wednesday 13 February 2019

at 5:00 pm

# ORDER OF BUSINESS

1.	Present	3
	Apologies	
	Confirmation of Minutes	
	Declaration of Interest	
	Financial Assistance Requests	
	5.1. Financial Assistance Requests	
	LJ Hooker Reg Cowden Memorial Sports Star of the Year Awards	
	6.1. LJ Hooker Reg Cowden Memorial Sports Star of the Year Awards	
	Booking Requests	
	New Members	
	General Business	
	Meeting Close	

The Chairperson declared the meeting open at 5pm

## 1. Present

Present: Clr J Smith, Clr D Goodwin, J Legge, R Whitty, D Whitty, M Fordham, D Fardell, C Hawkins, A Magus, T Crook, S Morris, A Ward, R Marjoram

Officers: D Anderson, T Fitzpatrick, E Trudgett, J Edgecombe, A Case, S Johnson

## 2. Apologies

L Stevens, L Kearney, P Evans, Clr S Ring, G Ryan

## 3. Confirmation of Minutes

The minutes are proposed to be presented to the Council on 25th February 2019.

#### **ACTION**

**THAT** the Minutes of the meeting of be taken as read and confirmed.

MOVED: R Marjoram SECONDED: Clr D Goodwin

- 4. Declaration of Interest
- 5. Financial Assistance Requests
- 5.1. Financial Assistance Requests

#### **ACTION / RECOMMENDATION**

THAT the information regarding financial assistance be noted.

MOVED: D Fardell SECONDED: T Crook

**CARRIED:** Unanimously

- 6. LJ Hooker Reg Cowden Memorial Sports Star of the Year Awards
- 6.1. LJ Hooker Reg Cowden Memorial Sports Star of the Year Awards

## **ACTION / RECOMMENDATION**

**THAT** 

1. The 2019 LJ Hooker Reg Cowden Memorial Senior Sports Star of the Year Award for December 2018 be awarded to Graeme Glazebrook (Cricket Umpiring); and

2. Merit certificates to be awarded to all other nominees.

MOVED: M Fordham SECONDED: S Morris

**CARRIED:** Unanimously

## 7. Booking Requests

#### **ACTION / RECOMMENDATION**

THAT all bookings detailed in Item 7 be approved, pending the 2019 Season Competition Draw /s for Rugby League.

MOVED: CIr D Goodwin SECONDED: A Ward

**CARRIED:** Unanimously

## 8. New Members

### **ACTION / RECOMMENDATION**

THAT Council accept John Legge and Anthony Brown as the Sports Advisory representatives from Lithgow Workies RLFC.

MOVED: CIr D Goodwin SECONDED: M Fordham

**CARRIED:** Unanimously

## 9. General Business

**General Business** 

**Summary** 

"Bookable" - New Recreation Facility Booking System

Council wishes to advise all sporting bodies that a new system for booking the Council recreation facilities will be introduced in the coming months. *Bookable* is a website designed specifically for booking Council facilities, with the aim to reduce conflicting/double bookings and the administrative burden on Council.

Further information and assistance will be provided once a timeframe has been established.

#### LJ Hooker Reg Cowden Memorial Sports Star Awards - Voting

The following awards are to be voted on:

- Bunny Abbott (Volunteer of the Year)
- Laurie Muir (Official of the Year)
- International Sports Star of the Year
- Eric Arnold Memorial Trophy
- Whitty Perpetual (Local Achievement)
- Mac Scott Memorial Trophy (All Rounder of the Year)

#### **Appreciation to Council**

- Appreciation of Mowing of Marjorie Jackson Oval
- · Appreciation of Mowing of Saville Park Portland
- Appreciation for looking into Water Problem at Basketball

## **Lithgow Storm Rugby League**

Muster Day for Junior Football - 24th February 2019

## **Rugby League Country Championship**

The Andrew Johns and Laurie Daley Cup is coming to Lithgow 16thFebruary 2019

#### **ACTION / RECOMMENDATION**

THAT the appropriate actions and reporting be undertaken in relation to the items raised during general business.

MOVED: D Whitty SECONDED: R Marjoram

**CARRIED:** Unanimously

## 10. Meeting Close

**Next Meeting** 

Wednesday, 27<sup>th</sup> March 2019 at 5:00pm Council Chambers, Administration Building 180 Mort Street LITHGOW NSW 2790

## There being no further business the meeting closed at

There being no further business the Chairperson declared the meeting closed at 5.55pm