

General Manager Lithgow City Council 11 April 2022

Dear Mr Butler

## Deputy Mayor Cr Cassandra Coleman – Executive Member of the Australian Local Government Women's Association NSW Branch

I write to inform you that the elections of the ALGWA NSW Branch Executive were held at our annual general meeting on Saturday 9 April 2022. The AGM endorsed a new President and elected executive members of the Australian Local Government Women's Association NSW Branch. Deputy Mayor Coleman was re-elected as Executive Member to the committee, in the position of Immediate Past President.

ALGWA is an organisation for women in local government and was established in 1951. ALGWA's objectives are:

- To assist in furthering women's knowledge and understanding of the function of local government
- To protect and enhance the interests and rights of women in local government
- To take action in relation to any subject or activity of particular interest to women affecting local governing bodies and/or local government legislation
- To act in an advisory capacity to intending women candidates for local government elections
- To encourage women into professional careers in local government.

All executive members of ALGWA work towards promoting ALGWA objectives by attending various boards, forums and committees as well as the ALGWA executive meetings which are held throughout NSW. This year we will see visits to Fairfield for our upcoming state conference, and various other Councils to promote women in local government.

This will be an exciting year for ALGWA as we have reviewed our strategic plan to strengthen our objectives to meet the increasing demands in areas of importance for women in local government.

ALGWA would appreciate your Council's support for Cr Coleman in assisting her to undertake her duties in this position not only in her attendance at conferences but also to fulfill her role at the executive and board meetings.

We look forward to your support.

Yours sincerely Di Baker



Councillor Di Baker

President ALGWA (NSW Branch)