

LITHGOW CITY COUNCIL TRAFFIC AUTHORITY LOCAL COMMITTEE Terms of Reference

Committee Name

Traffic Authority Local Committee (TALC)

Establishment

This Committee is a statutory requirement under the Transport Administration Act 1988 and the Roads Act 1993.

Delegations

The Council must refer all regulatory traffic related matters to TALC prior to exercising its delegated functions.

Financial Arrangements

Unless expressly resolved by Council the Committee has no powers to commit nor expend any Council funds.

Term of the Committee

This is an ongoing Statutory Committee under the Transport Administration Act 1988 and the Roads Act 1993.

Committee's Responsibilities

The principal responsibilities of the Committee are to technically review all traffic management and road safety related matters within public road reserves and public car parks, including installation of new / alterations to existing:

- Line marking
- Parking restrictions
- Traffic control devices such as speed humps
- Intersection controls such as give way, stop, traffic signals and roundabouts
- School and pedestrian crossings
- Traffic management for events

The Committee considers the technical merits of traffic and road related proposals, ensuring that current technical guidelines are considered, and provides recommendations to Council for decision.

Councillor Membership

In September each year, the Council shall nominate two (2) Councillors to the Committee, one (1) being an alternate.

The Mayor by virtue of holding the office of Mayor, is appointed as a member of all Committees established by Council. The appointment of the Mayor as a member of any Committee established by the Council need not be taken into account when determining a Quorum for a meeting of the Committee (Council Policy 9.2).

Committee Membership

TALC is to be made up of four (4) formal members entitled to vote on matters. The voting membership consists of;

- one (1) representative of the Council
- one (1) representative of the NSW Police
- one (1) representative of Transport for NSW
- the local State Member of Parliament (MP) or their nominee.

Council's representative may be any Councillor or Council officer. The Council representative may be a sub-delegate if Council has formally approved this.

Council may decide to have additional informal non-voting advisors to TALC who can provide advice and input into the matters discussed. Non-voting membership can include:

- Councillors
- General Manager
- Council Officers
- representatives of local transportation companies

Member voting

Voting members are eligible to cast one vote in support or rejection of the recommendation proposed for Council decision. When the recommendation is not supported unanimously, Council must notify Transport for NSW and the NSW Police and wait fourteen (14) days before proceeding with any Council resolution.

Committee Member Responsibilities

- Observation and compliance with Council's Code of Conduct.
- Observation and compliance with Council's OHS system objectives and instructions.

Term of Office of Committee Representatives

The Committee membership shall be ongoing with the Councillor delegates elected every 12 months.

Executive Officer

The Director Infrastructure Services shall be the Executive Officer to the Committee.

The Executive Officer shall:

- provide executive support to the Committee;
- be responsible for preparing the agenda and minutes of Committee meetings;
- be responsible for preparing a report to the Council containing the minutes; and, providing staff comment on the recommendations made by the Committee to the Council; and
- provide to the Committee the outcome and resolutions of the Council regarding each recommendation.

MEETING PRACTICE

Code of Meeting Practice

The meeting procedures outlined in the Council's Code of Meeting Practice shall guide the meeting procedures of the Committee unless otherwise outlined below.

Office Holders

The Chair of the Committee shall be a Councillor.

The Deputy Chair shall not be a Councillor or member of Council Staff.

These positions shall be determined by an election at the first meeting of a new term of the Committee.

Frequency of meetings

Meetings shall be held at least every four (4) weeks on a day and at a time to be determined by the Committee. On the last meeting of each year, the Committee will agree upon meeting schedule for the following year.

Meeting Protocol

- An agenda will be prepared and distributed three (3) working days before each meeting, together with the minutes of the previous meeting.
- A quorum of members is not required at all meetings. The Committee can make recommendation to Council provided all voting members are provided with an opportunity to comment on the agenda item prior to the meeting.

Minutes and Reports to Council

- Minutes of meetings will be kept of all meetings and will be reported to the Council.
- The Minutes of the meeting will be submitted to the Council as soon as possible.
- The Minutes of the meeting shall be presented to the next meeting of the Committee.

Attendance at Meetings

Whilst community members cannot attend TALC meetings, their concerns can be represented by their Councillors, State Member of Parliament and/or Council officers through written correspondence to Council.