Do you have knowledge about Lithgow’s flood events and flood behaviour; live within the flood prone area and are passionate about community involvement in decision making? If so, Lithgow City Council is seeking Expressions of Interest (EOI) from the community to fill two (2) community representative vacancies on the newly established Lithgow Floodplain Risk Management Committee.  This Committee is a Council advisory Committee and its role is to assist in the development of a floodplain risk management study and plan for the Farmers Creek and Marrangaroo catchment areas.

The community representative members will work with Council and various government agencies by providing a link to local community knowledge of flood behaviour; the flood related issues experienced by the community and to share views on how best to manage future flood risks. Membership to the committee is voluntary and the appointed members will need to attend at least 6 day time meetings at critical project milestones over the course of the next 12 to 15 months.
“Lithgow is particularly prone to flash flooding events, which in the past have caused damage to local homes and businesses.  Although significant flood mitigation works and measures have reduced some of the risk of flooding in the areas, it is still vitally important that Council and the community continue to appropriately plan for future events.  Having the voice of the local community represented on this Committee will ensure that all viewpoints are heard and our community is better prepared, is more responsive and is more resilient to future flood events” says Mayor Ray Thompson.

Community members who are interested in being part of the Committee should visit Lithgow Councils ‘Have Your Say’ website at  for further information including the adopted Terms of Reference for the Committee, the selection criteria for community members as well as how to submit your expression of interest application.

You can also contact Council’s Strategic Planning Team for further information on 02 6354999 or via email at

Applications for the Committee will close on the 19th June 2020.