Lithgow City Council will welcome 15 new citizens at an online Australian Citizenship Ceremony on 17 September 2021, as part of Australian Citizenship Day celebrations.

The conferees from eight countries including, Italy, India, Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, Ireland, Cambodia and New Zealand, will become Australian citizens as part of an online ceremony.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of Australian Citizenship Day. Lithgow City Council’s Mayor, Ray Thompson said “Australian Citizenship Day is an opportunity for all Australians in their community, whether by birth or choice, to pause and reflect and celebrate what’s great to be Australian.”

Mayor Thompson added, “Covid lockdowns and restrictions have resulted in fewer face to face ceremonies this year, however we still want to mark this important occasion and welcome new Australians to our community.

“I encourage residents in the Lithgow region to reflect on and affirm their Australian citizenship on 17 September as we welcome our newest citizens.”

For more information about Australian Citizenship Day and Australian citizenship visit