Lithgow City Council is reminding the community to nominate local people and organisations for their contributions to the Lithgow community before the 16 December closing date.

“I encourage the community to nominate someone they know for the 2023 NSW Local Citizenship Awards,” said Lithgow City Council Mayor Maree Statham.

“We have so many people, both young and old, who have given so much to this community. Now is your chance to nominate them for an award so their contributions can be recognised and celebrated.”

The NSW Local Citizenship Award categories are:

  • Citizen of the Year Award (Young and Open)
  • Volunteer of the Year Award (Young and Open)
  • Heritage Conservation/ Environmental Achievement Award
  • Service to the Community Award (Organisation)
  • Outstanding Event of the Year Award

The Volunteer of the Year Award is for people who have given their time freely to help the community within the Lithgow LGA.

The Citizen of the Year Award acknowledges people who through their efforts and commitment have made our community a better place.

Nominees for the Young Volunteer and Young Citizen Categories must be aged 16 to 25 years on 26 January 2023, while the Open Categories are for people aged 26 years and over on 26 January 2023.  

The Heritage Conservation/ Environmental Achievement Award is for an individual or an organisation that has made significant contribution to the preservation of the heritage or protection/enhancement of the environment of the Lithgow LGA.

The Service to the Community Award (Organisation) is for organisations which aim to enrich the lives of the people in the Lithgow area.  This organisation does not have to be a volunteer organisation. 

The Outstanding Event Award recognises the significant contribution that special events make to our region.

Nomination forms can be found online at or are available from the front counter of the Lithgow City Council Administration Centre and all Lithgow Library Branches.

Nominations close on Friday 16 December 2022.  

Winners of all awards will be announced Thursday 26 January 2023 at the Official Ceremony.