Draft Disability Inclusion Action Plan

Oct 24, 2023

The community is invited to make submissions on Council’s new Disability Inclusion Action Plan (DIAP).  

The NSW Disability Inclusion Act 2014 aims to improve the lives of people with disability and build a more inclusive community, through planning and coordination across all levels of government. 

Analysis indicates that there are significant economic benefits from increasing inclusiveness. There are financial benefits for individuals and for the larger economy by enabling people to have productive and fulfilling employments. Inclusive planning and the application of universal design principles also avoids later modification costs. 

All Councils are required under the NSW Disability Inclusion Act to develop a new Disability Inclusion Action Plan (DIAP) by 30 November 2023. 

Since adopting its first DIAP in 2017, Lithgow City Council has made good progress with initiatives to improve access for people with a disability, such as: 

  • Lithgow Blast Furnace elevated walkways, platforms and pathways are largely accessible; 
  • Lithgow Adventure Playground is designed to universal access principles with the bulk of play equipment accessible; 
  • Lake Wallace accessible fishing pontoon is the first accessible fishing pontoon in inland NSW; 
  • Accessibility upgrades to the Union Theatre; and 
  • Accessible toilets have been installed in several locations including Lithgow CBD, Blast Furnace, Adventure Playground and along Farmers Creek. 

The new DIAP has been informed by: 

  • Consultation with disability service providers; 
  • Community surveys and focus groups; 
  • Consultation with relevant Council staff; and 
  • A review of relevant Council policy and procedures. 

The DIAP includes an action plan across a number of Council departments and functions in relation to each of these focus areas/ domains. 

The new DIAP is on public exhibition until Friday 17 November 2023.

Written comments will be received up until 4.30pm Friday 17 November 2023 by email council@lithgow.nsw.gov.au  or PO Box 19 Lithgow 2790.