Australia Day ceremonies will be held in Lithgow, Wallerawang and Portland on Friday 26 January with free activities and entertainment for everyone. So come along and celebrate Australia Day this year with family and friends.

“Australia Day 2024 is a day to reflect, respect and celebrate the ever-evolving story of our nation – our history, our lives and most of all our people,” said Lithgow City Council Mayor Maree Statham. “Australia Day Local Citizen Awards also provide an opportunity to celebrate the wonderful people of our community who have made exemplary contributions to making it such a wonderful place to live. In addition, there will be eight new citizens taking the Citizenship Pledge at the ceremony.”

The Ambassador’s Address will be given by Mr Bruno Efoti, Founder of Tradies in Sight, who is well known for his achievements in the area of Mental Health.

Lithgow: The Official Ceremony will be hosted by the Mayor Maree Statham at Queen Elizabeth Park from 9:00 to 10:30am with a Citizenship Ceremony for new citizens, presentation of the NSW Local Citizenship Awards, and the Ambassador’s Address.

Entertainment will be provided by the Lithgow City Band and local musician Dave James-The One Man Band.  A free sausage sizzle and delicious damper will be provided courtesy of Lithgow Lions Club.

The Lithgow pool will have free entry from 10.00am till 6.00pm.

In the event of rain, the Lithgow celebrations will be relocated to the Union Theatre, 65-67 Bridge Street Lithgow.

Wallerawang: Wallerawang celebrations will be held at Wallerawang Community and Sports Club from 10.30am with the Mayor and Australia Day Ambassador hosting the official ceremony at 11.00am.

Portland: There’ll be loads of family friendly activities and entertainment happening at Portland from 10.00am to 3.00pm with the Mayor and Australia Day Ambassador hosting the official ceremony at 12.00 midday. Wolgan street will be closed from 9.00am to 4.00pm.