Waste Education

Lithgow City Council is proud to present the results of our first ‘We Are Waste Wise’ Primary School Art Competition in 2020.

The theme for the competition was ‘Our Place Our Future’ and students were asked to draw a picture about what they think is special about their local environment. The entries were fabulous!

114 entries were received covering a wide range of environmental themes and local landmarks including the Blast Furnace, Queen Elizabeth Park, Lake Lyell, Lithgow Railway Bridge, Wollemi Pine and more.

It was a tough decision for the judges to pick the winning pictures.  See the link below to view the winning pictures and the talented winners and finalists.

Tyler Glover from Lithgow Public School
took out the Overall Winner prize with his colourful picture of the Blast Furnace.

Molly Lambert from Meadow Flat Public School
was Runner Up with her beautifully detailed picture of a koala in nature.

Braxton Burgess from Lithgow Public School
won the Encouragement Award   for his striking picture of the Wollemi Pine

Mikayla Johnson from Cooerwull School
won the Best Local Landscape/Landmark with her eye catching picture of Queen Elizabeth Park.

Finalists were:

Nellie Griffiths and Rhys Callaghan (Portland Central School)

Niamh Jenkins (Hampton Public School)

Kayleigh Northey, HollyParker, Kaira Hughes, Natalia Melnyk, Jayden Judson and Isaac Beckett (Cooerwull Public School)

Thank you teachers and students for your efforts in celebrating ‘Our Place’ Lithgow LGA.